Ivor Hughes


Full Name:  Ivor Hughes
Birthplace:  Welshpool, Wales
28th February 1939
Wife, Vera Hughes

1964 7 14 2 1 3 0.86
1965 13 40 23 7 30 3.0
1966 34 133 176.5 16 192.5 5.79
Taken from the Cradley Speedway Database includes all matches
  Ivor Hughes in action


Ivor was just 27 years old when he lost his life participating in the sport he loved, He joined Cradley in 1964 as a novice but Team Manager Ted Flanaghan soon noticed that this young Welsh lad from Berriew was one to be watched. He continued to climb throughout 1965 ending with an average of just over 3 points per match. In 1966 Ivor made a breakthrough, he invested in a new ESO machine and progress was rapid, on 21st May he top scored for the Heathens with 11 points and challenged Barry Briggs for the Silver Sash.  On 30th July Ivor scored his first maximum 12 points - 4 rides and inflicting the only defeat on Colin Pratt that night.
In an International meeting at Dudley Wood against Swedish club Vagarna on 10th August he scored 10 points from 4 rides but went on to beat World Champion Bjorn Knudsson in the scratch race final.
Then on 20th August after three straight wins against Sheffield he went out in heat 13 and appeared to lock-up, he was struck from behind by a Sheffield rider and was taken to the Guest Hospital with serious head injuries, Ivor passed away at around 3.00am on Tuesday 23rd August 1966

We can only speculate and guess what the 'Welsh Wizard' could have eventually achieved in Heathens colours. One thing is for sure though. "I will ride my heart out for Cradley" was Ivor's promise, and that is certainly what he did.


Ivor Hughes


  When Ivor passed away a trust fund was set up. Half the money would go to the Guest Hospital in Dudley which purchased a bed for the Princess Mary Ward, the other half would go to his family.  For the meeting against Wolves on 17th September 1966 all riders and staff gave their services free.

 In 1967 a Remembrance Meeting failed after two attempts, first on September 11th then again on the 25th the trophy was awarded to Ken Wakefield.

It was awarded to Chris Hawkins in 1968 and Ralf Waller for 'Best Novice', in 1971.
Dave Perks won the Trophy in 1972 with 15 points.
Paul Share was awarded the Trophy in 1975
Gerry Hintz won in 1976
In 1977 it was awarded to John Hack as most promising rider of the year.
Chris Neath won it at Wolverhampton in 1999
Rained off at Mildenhall in 2001
Awarded to Tom Perry in 2010 (Dudley Rider of the Year)
Darryl Ritchings in 2011 (Dudley Rider of the Year)
Tom Perry again in 2012 (Dudley Rider of the Year)
Ashley Morris in 2013 (Dudley Rider of the Year)


  Our thanks to Colin Jewes for the painstaking research - http://www.speedwaychampions.com/memorial-trophies.php    

Back to the Listing

Web site created and maintained by Steve Johnson. E-mail me your comments and suggestions.
The views expressed are those of the author and not necessarily those of Cradley Heath Speedway.
Copyright: Steve Johnson & Cradley Heath Speedway Ltd, 2013